top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNikki Lindt

Interviewing, Documenting and an Arctic Exhibition in Vienna

Updated: Jan 9, 2023

I was so excited to arrive in Abisko in late September to start my exploration of this area of the Arctic!


I got the opportunity to interview multiple ecologists and locals about their personal connection to the natural areas of Abisko, Sweden. I documented these sites extensively through drawings, photos videos and (subsurface) sound.



The sites were locations of personal relevance to the participants. Pictured below is Permafrost Ecologist Liam, Arctic Biologist Jolanta, and local resident Margot. During these interviews I wondered, how do our personal perspectives influence how we relate to and perceive place?





I will be creating installations using recorded sound and paintings inspired by the interviews as a starting point.


I will include work from this series as part of my arctic work installation which will be included in an exhibition at The University of Vienna opening March 17th. This exhibition is part of Arctic Science Summit Week, an annual worldwide summit hosted by the Austrian Polar Institute for 2023.

51 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page